Storing Vanilla Beans

This weekend I stayed home, recovered from the after effects of the flu bug that bit me the weekend prior, and made 14 batches of preserves to take to the Farmer’s Market this week.  It was busy, but fulfilling.

I also learned how to store vanilla beans.  I buy my vanilla beans in bulk and, knowing the time and effort it takes to produce vanilla beans, the last thing I want is for them to get any mold on them or dry out.

IMG_1429

After a quick internet search (isn’t it amazing how so much information is right at our fingertips?), I discovered the key is to store them in an airtight container, away from as much light as possible.  And airtight means something more substantial than a Ziplok!

I divided the beans into small bundles – you don’t want to have to open and reseal every time you just need one or two – and busted out the trusty vacuum sealer.

IMG_1431 IMG_1428

After sealing them into bundles of 12, their height fit perfectly into a quart Ball jar.  Bonus that it is one of the Heritage Collection green jars to keep out light!  IMG_1430

I labeled the jar with my oh-so-fun Brother P-Touch labeler, and now my vanilla beans will be viable for a year or more!

IMG_2369

Vanilla beans can be quite affordable by buying in bulk – I purchased mine on Amazon.  They add such wonderful depth to dishes, and having a reliable storage method makes the purchase totally worth it!

Author:

Small Batch Canner, Part Time Crafter, Chef, and Artist

Leave a Reply

