Fools and Fanatics and Wiser People

“The whole problem with the world is that fools and fanatics are always so certain of themselves, and wiser people so full of doubts.”
Bertrand Russell

I came across this quote today after having a pretty rough day yesterday.  This applies to so much in our current lives – politics and dietary choices seem to be the most prevalent at the moment.  Be forewarned, this is not a food post today, more of a journaling one.  I learn a lot by my time spent in the kitchen creating.  I truly believe in the restorative powers of slowing down, making food, creating, and knowing where your ingredients come from.  Listening to America’s Test Kitchen podcasts and watching Michael Pollan’s Cooking series on Netflix are two activities I highly recommend while in your kitchen!

The wiser people are ignored since they typically think and take their time – cooking, reading, or deciding, by researching,  what non-elixir options are right for them.  Eat whatever you want.  If you believe a certain food has adverse effects on your system, don’t eat that food. But do not turn to me like a turn of the century snake oil salesman and tell me that it is bad for everyone and your way will cure all ills.  Did you ever think that maybe your constant stressing over what and what not to eat, constantly modifying your order when you go out, and worrying about why everyone around you is not following your lead could be having just as many adverse effects on your system?

Focus instead on the Super 6- six factors that can most likely add years to our lives, and life to our years. Feet, forks, fingers, sleep, stress, and love.  Engage in physical activity, eat a balanced diet, do not use your fingers for smoking, get good quality sleep, mitigate stress in your life, and have a good social circle of family and friends.  This came to me via David Katz, MD through this article – http://css-wellness.blogspot.com/2014/09/feet-forks-fingers-sleep-stress-and-love.html.

I try my hardest every day to be active and eat well.  And I do not give myself enough credit and love.  As wise as I feel I am, I still get sucked into thinking I need to be at a certain weight or size, although logically I know that my body makeup is very different from the person next to me and it is impossible for me to ever look that way!  But I am trying. I do not smoke, that one is easy!  I feel I get good quality sleep (I also firmly believe in the restorative power of naps!).  The last two are the toughest.  I want to surround myself with good people where I currently live so I put myself out there, and in return I get…nothing.  Which is where the breakdown of yesterday came from.  Things are better today.  I know I will be okay and when push comes to shove there is that love all around me.  But possibly some changes need to be made.


We are all going to make mistakes and feel embarrassed about that time we did fall for the “cure all”.  As long as we accept and learn from those mistakes and embarrassments, all will be well with our worlds.  And in the meantime, just remember that “you don’t need a phony elixir to lead a healthy long life.” – Christopher Kimball

 

Author:

Small Batch Canner, Part Time Crafter, Chef, and Artist

Leave a Reply

